Adding an accelerometer

I ordered two accelerometers today to try to improve the timing of the POV. Amazon had pretty decent prices so I ordered from them.

SainSmart ADXL335 Triple Axis Accelerometer Breakout Module
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006J4G4FQ/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00

MMA7455 Accelerometer Sensor Module for SPI IIC
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008BR9IIY/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00

I’ve never used one of these before so I didn’t know what to order. I ordered the ADXL335 first, but then after talking to a friend who knows much more than I do, he suggested the MMA7455. So I’ll end up getting both and figuring out which one is easiest to interface with. I believe the propeller can handle both without too much effort based on the examples I’ve been able to find online.

I need to figure out how to hook it up to the badge since I don’t have a real schematic, (the one on the DVD doesn’t show which IO pin is which. I hooked up a simple LED and just ran through some of the pins to see which ones I could label. I came up with this little mapping. Looks like I have 11 pins to work with, and I’ll probably only need 3 or 4.

The first accelerometer is scheduled to arrive tomorrow so I who knows maybe I’ll have it reading data by the end of the day tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

